3 Types of Muscles

Create healthcare diagrams like this example called 3 Types of Muscles in minutes with SmartDraw. SmartDraw includes 1000s of professional healthcare and anatomy chart templates that you can modify and make your own.

Text in this Example:

3 Types of Muscles
Cardiac muscle:
The cardiac muscle is a type of involuntary striated muscle found in the walls of the heart. As it contracts, it propels blood into the heart and through the blood vessels of the circulatory system.
Skeletal muscle:
The skeletal muscle is a type of striated muscle, usually attached to the skeleton. Skeletal muscles are used to create movement, by applying force to bones and joints; via contraction. They generally contract voluntarily (via somatic nerve stimulation), although they can contract involuntarily through reflexes. The whole muscle is wrapped in a special type of connective tissue, epimysium.
Smooth muscle:
The smooth muscle is a type of non-striated muscle, found within the tunica media layer of arteries and veins, the bladder, uterus, male and female reproductive tracts, gastrointestinal tract, respiratory tract, the ciliary muscle and iris of the eye. The glomeruli of the kidneys contain a smooth muscle-like cell called the mesangial cell. Smooth muscle is fundamentally different from skeletal muscle and cardiac muscle in terms of structure, function, excitation-coupling, and mechanism of contraction.
LifeART Collection Images Copyright © 1989-2001 by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Baltimore, MD

By continuing to use the website, you consent to the use of cookies.   Read More